May 31, 2002 – A total of 28 Antilles School students received scholarships and prizes at a reception held Thursday to recognize both the honorees and the individuals and organizations making the awards possible.
The awards and their recipients, with class status indicated:
Emily Luscz, '03, took first place and Lane Sell, '03, and Bilal Belardo, '04, tied for second place for the Edward Seykota Math Scholarship prizes, offered for the first time this year.
Chelsea Tracy, '05, received the Mark C. Marin Scholarship, also awarded for the first time this year. It recognizes overall achievement including scholarship, leadership, personal involvement and good behavior.
Nicole Wheatley, '07, received a new scholarship established by alumnus Joel Tranum to honor the first Antilles headmistress, Deborah Finch; it is to reward a deserving student who has demonstrated commitment, achievement and good values. Nicole will receive the scholarship for each of the five years until she graduates.
Rachael Gargano, '04, received the Ruby Rutnik Award, named for an Antilles alumna, the daughter of Andrew and Janet Rutnik, who died in an automobile accident. The Student Council selects the recipient, who must embody Ruby’s values, work ethic, athletic ability and commitment.
Celeste Richardson, '03; Lana Winter, '03; Emily Luscz. '04; Cara Lee Williams, '04; and Karan Motiani, '06, received Gruber/Globalvest Scholarships, which each year recognize five students for exemplary character, commitment and achievement.
Christal Richardson, '04; Mellisha Bedminster, '07; Leeanna Hyacinth, '07; Rahim Benjamin, '08; Brandon Carvalho, '09; Kayla Egger, '09; Clinton Williams, '09; Roya Benjamin, '10; Sarah Charles, '12; Hannah Charles, '14; Aliyah John, '14; and Joseph Charles, '16, received J. Epstein Virgin Islands Foundation Scholarships, which go to students who demonstrate good attitudes and values and a commitment to succeed.
Simone Barry, '04; Rachael Gargano, '04; Leeanna Hyachinth, '07; Michelle Schuler, '07; Rachel Rampino, '09; Jamoi Edinborough, '12; and Aliyah John, '14, received Martha Kenney Christensen Awards. Faculty members donate funds for the awards, named for a teacher and administrator with the school for 43 years, and select the recipients, who must embody excellence in academic achievement, attitude and behavior.
Carolina de Lyrot, '04, received an Antilles Merit Scholarship, given to the students with the most impressive achievement on the tests they are required to take to enter the school.

Publisher's note : Like the St. John Source now? Find out how you can love us twice as much — and show your support for the islands' free and independent news voice … click here.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email