88.6 F
Cruz Bay
Saturday, July 20, 2024
HomeNewsArchivesThree New Trustees Join Landmarks Society Board

Three New Trustees Join Landmarks Society Board

Nov. 26, 2007 – The St. Croix Landmarks Society elected three new trustees at a recent special meeting of the membership, according to a press release from St. Croix Landmarks Society.
Hortensia Lanio, founder and principal of Lanio and Associates Architects Inc., has extensive experience in historic preservation projects in the Virgin Islands of the United States and is a member of the State Historic Preservation Board. Rupert Pelle is superintendent of water distribution for Water and Power Authority and the current chairman of the Historic Preservation Commission of the Virgin Islands. John Connor is the author, annotator, editor and/or publisher of five books on the history of St. Croix.
The membership also re-elected three trustees: attorney Paul Dué, professional engineer George Suarez, and retired businessman Robert Merwin, who is board chairman. Trustees are elected for a term of three years.
The mission of the Society is "to advance understanding and appreciation of the unique historical and cultural legacy of St. Croix, through preservation, research, and education."

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Keeping our community informed is our top priority.
If you have a news tip to share, please call or text us at 340-228-8784.

Support local + independent journalism in the U.S. Virgin Islands

Unlike many news organizations, we haven't put up a paywall – we want to keep our journalism as accessible as we can. Our independent journalism costs time, money and hard work to keep you informed, but we do it because we believe that it matters. We know that informed communities are empowered ones. If you appreciate our reporting and want to help make our future more secure, please consider donating.