81.4 F
Cruz Bay
Tuesday, June 6, 2023
HomeNewsArchivesMolyneux Elected to Fifth Term as President of St. Croix Teachers' Union

Molyneux Elected to Fifth Term as President of St. Croix Teachers' Union

May 12, 2008 — Tyrone Molyneux was reelected for another term as president of the St. Croix Federation of Teachers Friday at the union's 2008 general election.
Teachers cast their ballots in boxes set up at St. Croix schools. Molyneux has held the position since 2000, and is just now completing his fourth term, he said in a phone interview Monday.
Molyneux expressed thanks to the union members' "vote of confidence in me and the rest of the leadership team."
The union will continue to advocate vigorously for the interests of St. Croix's teachers, he said.
"We continue to be vigilant with contract administration, pursue enforcement actions in grievance and unfair labor practice charges, and continue to represent our members in grievance mediation and arbitration," he said. "Since 2000, the leadership of the St. Croix Federation of Teachers has continued to be accountable. All of our records are transparent, and we continue to advocate for increased opportunities for professional development, the hiring of the best and most highly qualified teachers."
These have been the objectives and goals of the federation since it was first formed in 1968, he said.
"As we celebrate our 40th anniversary we strive to live up to those expectations," he said. "We have demonstrated our stability and our strong foundation."
Negotiating a new union contract with the V.I. Government is a major current concern for the union. Molyneux anticipates that by the end of May all the parties will have come to a tentative agreement, which he will be able to take to the union for approval.
Molyneux is only the third president since the union's inception. Raymond Moorhead was the first and Cecil Benjamin the second president of the union, Molyneux said.
Here are the election results. The number at the end of each line is the number of votes that person received:
— President Tyrone Molyneux, 411 votes;
— First Vice President Beverly M. Nesbitt, 386;
— Second Vice President Rosa Soto-Thomas, 399;
— Recording Secretary Rhonda Vanterpool, 369;
— Treasurer Velsina George-Berrios, 430;
— Paraprofessionals Chair Marcia Milligan, 79;
— Paraprofessional Vice Chair Arlette Hodge, 3;
— Support Staff Chair Sharon Jackson, 60;
— Support Staff Vice Chair Karen Quinn, 38;
— Support Staff Secretary Glenda McKenzie, 38; and
— Nurses Chair Lisa Lopez, 3.
The following four members were elected as delegates to the American Federation of Teachers' National Convention:
— Sharon Jackson, 303;
— Renwick Lynch, Sr., 194;
— Beryl Shaw, 183; and
— Arlette Hodge, 170.
Back Talk Share your reaction to this news with other Source readers. Please include headline, your name and city and state/country or island where you reside.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Keeping our community informed is our top priority.
If you have a news tip to share, please call or text us at 340-228-8784.

Support local + independent journalism in the U.S. Virgin Islands

Unlike many news organizations, we haven't put up a paywall – we want to keep our journalism as accessible as we can. Our independent journalism costs time, money and hard work to keep you informed, but we do it because we believe that it matters. We know that informed communities are empowered ones. If you appreciate our reporting and want to help make our future more secure, please consider donating.