79.6 F
Cruz Bay
Thursday, March 23, 2023
HomeNewsArchivesSt. Croix’s Robles, Smith Set Course Records at 2014 Olympic Day Run/Walk

St. Croix’s Robles, Smith Set Course Records at 2014 Olympic Day Run/Walk

In spite of heavily overcast skies interspersed with brief downpours, the St. Thomas edition of the 2014 Olympic Day Run/Walk was able to champion the Olympic spirit with a focus on honest effort, finishing time and camaraderie. As every distance runners knows, a heavily overcast day in the absence of oppressively heavy rain is actually “a good running day.”
As it happens, several of St Thomas’ fastest were able to schedule the event. But an elite group of St. Croix runners came over to establish the records for the brand new course. Conducted by the St. Thomas Association of Roadrunners (STAR) and staying entirely on the Waterfront apron, the two-mile race shuttled between the Lucinda Millin/Lovers Lane intersection to the east and almost to Strand Gade to the west. Both female and male runners were led by Crucian stars who had excelled in St. Croix’s Olympic Day event last week.
On St. Thomas, standouts Juan Robles and Malique Smith finished first and second, respectively. Lukata Samuel of St. Thomas finished third. In winning, Robles set the men’s course record at 11:00.7. For her part, twelve-year-old Mikaela Smith set and now holds the St. Thomas women’s course record of 14:13.67. Mireille Smith finished second in 15:33 with St Thomas’ Jillian Curran finishing third.
Last week in St. Croix’s observation of Olympic Day, Robles and Smith had finished in the reverse order (4:44 to 4:45) in the “Magic of the Mile.” Mikaela had run the best time for women (6:06), while Mireille Smith had led her age group by running 7:04.
See http://virginislandspace.org/olympicdayresults2014.pdf for full results of St. Croix’s “Magic of the Mile” event for Olympic Day. St. Thomas Olympic Day results follow below.
Although prizes were not awarded, all finishers and volunteers received free Olympic Day 2014 T-shirts. A runner himself, V.I. Olympic Committee President Angel Morales was on hand to congratulate the participants and award them finishers’ certificates and Olympic pins.
For more information, contact rawatlington@earthlink.net .
Complete Results by time for the two-miler, June 29, follow below and are attached.
1. Juan Robles 11:00.7
2. Malique Smith 11:56.9
3. Lukata Samuel 13:52
4. Atheniah Roacher 14:09
5. Michael Sheesley 14:11
6. Maurice Krug 14:49
7. Eddy Cepeda 15:24
8. Jamaal Carroll 15:34
9. Eric Browne 15:35
10. Steve Morton 15:44
11. Jason Budsan 15:46
12. Chris Curran 16:51
13. Jarvon Stout 17:56
14. Roy Rogers 17:57
15. Alric Lettsome 18:11
16. Jon Blomquist 18:49
17. Angel Morales 19:00
18. Tyler Smith 19:14
19. Kevon Ritter 19:57
20. Richard Laplace 20:43
21. James Carroll 23:33
22. Vincent Fuller 23:42
23. Miguel Quinones 24:53
24. Kadeem Daniel 29:39
25. Jamiel Martin 33:26
26. Dean Spring 39:58
1. Mikaela Smith 14:13.7
2. Mireille Smith 15:33
3. Jillian Curran 16:49
4. Shadee Lake 18:38
5. Christina Thompson 18:43
6. Michelle Carty 18:51
7. Gloria Salas-Lindquist 19:09
8. Marilyn Brandt 20:53
9. Sophia Aubain 25:03
10. Kaysia Daniel 29:16
11. Destry King 29:21
12. Beryl Freeman 30:05
13. Gayle Deller 30:19
14. Victoria Barnette 33:20
15. Benita Martin 36:30
16. Wendy Spring 39:53

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Keeping our community informed is our top priority.
If you have a news tip to share, please call or text us at 340-228-8784.

Support local + independent journalism in the U.S. Virgin Islands

Unlike many news organizations, we haven't put up a paywall – we want to keep our journalism as accessible as we can. Our independent journalism costs time, money and hard work to keep you informed, but we do it because we believe that it matters. We know that informed communities are empowered ones. If you appreciate our reporting and want to help make our future more secure, please consider donating.