81.4 F
Cruz Bay
Wednesday, March 29, 2023
HomeNewsArchivesResults of 32nd Annual Founders’ Day 5K Released

Results of 32nd Annual Founders’ Day 5K Released

STAR's Founders' Day 5K competitorsThe 32nd running of the St. Thomas Association of Roadrunners’ (STAR) Founders Day 5K took place on Sunday. Oct. 5. Juan Robles, who had inspired St. Thomas runners with his victory in June’s Olympic Day Run, came over from St. Croix again, challenged a strong field, and took the men’s division with a time of 16:45. Last year’s winner, Shane deGannes, finished a strong second in 17:08, bettering his winning time of last year over the 3.1-mile course.
Ruth Ann David won the women’s competition in 19:18, just 12 seconds short of the course record. Hers and Robles’ times were the fastest for this course in over a decade. Stephanie Osborne was first in her age group and second woman overall in a time of 25:47. Teenagers Karan Gaikwad and Gregory Christian, less than a week after tough cross-country races, finished one and two in 26:18 and 29:59, respectively. Amazingly, every individual who had run this race in 2013 posted substantially better times this year.
Winners in other age groups were Melina Diaz, Candace Grant, Jack Hullins, Steve Laplace, Collette Monroe and Mike Sheesley. Complete results are listed below.
Contact Roy Watlington (777-8183) for more information about this race.
STAR’s next race is the Men’s Two Miler at 4:30 p.m. on Oct. 12. Then on Oct. 19, the Making Strides Against Breast Cancer 2 Mile Walk/Run will take place at the WICO Dock in Havensight.
For additional information about these events, contact Therese Hodge at 775-6373.
Finishing Places and Times for STAR’s 32nd Founders Day 5K
October 5, 2014, at 7 a.m.

Women 19-29
Melinda Diaz 33:16
Women 30-39
Stephanie Osborne 25:47
June Francis 36:09
Joan Francis 53:47
Women 40-49
Ruth Ann David (First Female Overall) 19:18
Irene Greaux 31:36
Women 50-59
Colette Monroe 27:10
Mida Gaikwad 33:51
Women 60 and over
Candace Grant 31:09
Toni Jackson 43:47
Gayle Deller 45:09
Joan Francis 53:47
Men 13-19
Karan Gaikwad (First Youth Overall) 26:18
Gregory Christian 29:59
Men 20-29
Juan Robles (First Male Overall) 16:45
Chris Thomas 23:29
Kyle Gonsalves 45:19
Men 30-39
Mike Sheesley 20:45
Mark Skandier 20:59
Men 40-49
Shane deGannes 17:08
Eddie Butcher 20:22
Brad Kappel 20:36
Bill McConnell 21:28
Matthew Lutz 23:03
Jason Budsan 24:24
Men 50-59
Steve Laplace 23:16
Gerard Dublin 29:10
Men 60 and over
Jack Hullins 20:39
Roi Simmonds 32:00
Neville Gonsalves 41:39
Frank Jackson 44:25
Roy Magras 53:48

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Keeping our community informed is our top priority.
If you have a news tip to share, please call or text us at 340-228-8784.

Support local + independent journalism in the U.S. Virgin Islands

Unlike many news organizations, we haven't put up a paywall – we want to keep our journalism as accessible as we can. Our independent journalism costs time, money and hard work to keep you informed, but we do it because we believe that it matters. We know that informed communities are empowered ones. If you appreciate our reporting and want to help make our future more secure, please consider donating.