## BILL NO. 33-0081

## Thirty-Third Legislature of the Virgin Islands

May 15, 2018
--------------

A Resolution reorganizing and reestablishing the Majority Caucus, electing the officers, appointing the chairpersons, vice-chairpersons and members of the standing committees of the Thirty-Third Legislature

PROPOSED BY: Senators Alicia V. Barnes, Marvin A. Blyden, Allison L. DeGazon, Novelle E. Francis, Jr., Myron D. Jackson, Javan E. James, Sr., Steven D. Payne, Sr., and Janelle K. Sarauw

- WHEREAS, section 6(g) of the Revised Organic Act of the Virgin Islands grants the
- 2 Legislature of the Virgin Islands the authority to exercise all the attributes inherent in
- 3 legislative assemblies;
- WHEREAS, the election of its officers, establishment of committees, appointment of
- 5 members to the committees, and the general organization and reorganization of the body are
- 6 inherent powers of the Legislature;
- WHEREAS, it has been a long-standing practice, as authorized by the Rules of the
- 8 Legislature, that the officers, committee chairpersons, and members on committees may be
- 9 elected by adoption of a resolution naming the officers, committees, chairs, vice-chairs and
- members, and organizing or reorganizing the Legislature; and

1	WHEREAS,	consistent	with t	the	authority	granted	by th	he I	Revised	Organic	Act	of t	the

- 2 Virgin Islands, the purpose of this Resolution is to reorganize the Thirty-Third Legislature of
- 3 the Virgin Islands; Now, Therefore,
- 4 Be it resolved by the Legislature of the Virgin Islands:
- 5 **SECTION 1.** (a) **THAT:** The Thirty-Third Legislature of the Virgin Islands
- 6 adopts in whole the document titled "Resolution for the Reorganization of the Thirty-Third
- 7 Legislature of the Virgin Islands," dated May 14, 2019, signed by Senators Alicia V. Barnes,
- 8 Marvin A. Blyden, Allison L. DeGazon, Novelle E. Francis, Jr., Myron D. Jackson, Javan E.
- 9 James, Sr., Steven D. Payne, Sr., and Janelle K. Sarauw, attached as Appendix A and made
- 10 part of this Resolution.
- 11 (b) **THAT:** The Majority Caucus is reestablished as consisting of Senators Alicia
- 12 V. Barnes, Marvin A. Blyden, Allison L. DeGazon, Novelle E. Francis, Jr., Donna A. Frett-
- Gregory, Myron D. Jackson, Javan E. James, Sr., Steven D. Payne, Sr., Janelle K. Sarauw,
- 14 Athneil "Bobby" Thomas, and Kurt A. Vialet.
- SECTION 2. THAT: The following members are elected to the offices of the Thirty-
- 16 Third Legislature as provided in this section.
- 17 (a) Senator Novelle E. Francis is elected President.
- 18 (b) Senator Myron D. Jackson is elected Vice-President.
- 19 (c) Senator Alicia V. Barnes is elected Secretary.
- 20 (d) Senator Marvin A. Blyden is elected Majority Leader.
- 21 (e) Senator Athneil "Bobby" Thomas is elected Secretary for
- 22 Intergovernmental and Territorial Affairs.
- 23 (f) Senator Allison L. DeGazon is elected liaison to the United States
- 24 Congress.

1	(g)	Senator Myron D. Jackson is elected Liaison to the United States
2	Department of	Interior, Office of Insular Affairs.
3	(h)	Senator Kurt A. Vialet is elected Liaison to the White House.
4	SECTION 3	• THAT: The Standing Committees of the Thirty-Third Legislature are
5	amended and reestab	blished, and the chairs, vice-chairs, and members of the committees are
6	elected as provided in	n this section.
7	(a) Com	nittee on Rules and Judiciary
8	Chair: Senate	or Donna A. Frett-Gregory
9	Vice-Chair:	Senator Novelle E. Francis
10	Members:	Senator Alicia V. Barnes
11		Senator Allison L. DeGazon
12		Senator Myron D. Jackson
13		Senator Steven D. Payne, Sr.
14		Senator Javan E. James, Sr.
15	(b) Comr	nittee on Finance
16	Chair: Senate	or Kurt A. Vialet
17	Vice-Chair:	Senator Marvin A. Blyden
18	Members:	Senator Athneil "Bobby" Thomas
19		Senator Alicia V. Barnes
20		Senator Dwayne M. DeGraff
21		Senator Donna A. Frett-Gregory
22		Senator Janelle K. Sarauw
23	(c) Com	nittee on Health, Hospitals and Human Services
24	Chair:	Senator Allison L. DeGazon
25	Vice-Chair:	Senator Janelle K. Sarauw

1	Members:	Senator Kurt A. Vialet
2		Senator Donna A. Frett-Gregory
3		Senator Alicia V. Barnes
4		Senator Marvin A. Blyden
5		Senator Stedmann Hodge, Jr.
6	(d) Comm	nittee on Education and Workforce Development
7	Chair:	Senator Janelle K. Sarauw
8	Vice-Chair:	Senator Kurt A. Vialet
9	Members:	Senator Donna A. Frett-Gregory
10		Senator Myron D. Jackson
11		Senator Allison L. DeGazon
12		Senator Stedmann Hodge, Jr.
13		Senator Javan E. James, Sr.
14	(e) Comm	nittee on Youth, Sports, Parks and Recreation
15	Chair: Senato	or Javan E. James, Sr.
16	Vice-Chair:	Senator Athneil "Bobby" Thomas
17	Members:	Senator Dwayne M. DeGraff
18		Senator Kenneth L. Gittens
19		Senator Steven D. Payne, Sr.
20		Senator Janelle K. Sarauw
21		Senator Kurt A. Vialet
22	(f) Comm	nittee on Economic Development, Planning and Infrastructure
23	Chair: Senato	or Alicia V. Barnes
24	Vice-Chair:	Senator Myron D. Jackson
25	Members:	Senator Oakland Benta

1		Senator Allison L. DeGazon
2		Senator Kenneth L. Gittens
3		Senator Dwayne M. Degraff
4		Senator Stedmann Hodge, Jr.
5		Senator Athneil "Bobby" Thomas
6		Senator Kurt A. Vialet
7	(g) Comr	nittee on Homeland Security, Justice and Public Safety
8	Chair: Senato	or Steven D. Payne, Sr.
9	Vice-Chair:	Senator Oakland Benta
10	Members:	Senator Kenneth L. Gittens
11		Senator Donna A. Frett-Gregory
12		Senator Novelle E. Francis, Jr.
13		Senator Stedmann Hodge, Jr.
L4		Senator Athneil "Bobby" Thomas
15	(h) Comm	nittee on Government Operations, Consumer and Veteran Affairs
16	Chair: Senato	or Athneil "Bobby" Thomas
17	Vice-Chair:	Senator Dwayne M. DeGraff
18	Members:	Senator Marvin A. Blyden
19		Senator Novelle E. Francis, Jr.
20		Senator Kenneth L. Gittens
21		Senator Oakland Benta
22		Senator Steven D. Payne, Sr.
23	(i) Comm	nittee on Housing, Transportation and Telecommunications
24	Chair: Senato	or Marvin A. Blyden
)5	Vice-Chair:	Senator Alicia Barnes

1	Members:	Senator Novelle E. Francis, Jr.
2		Senator Kenneth L. Gittens
3		Senator Myron D. Jackson
4		Senator Javan E. James, Sr.
5		Senator Janelle K. Sarauw
6	(j) Comr	nittee on Culture, Historic Preservation and Agriculture
7	Chairman:	Senator Myron D. Jackson
8	Vice-Chair:	Senator Allison L. DeGazon
9	Members:	Senator Oakland Benta
10		Senator Donna A. Frett-Gregory
11		Senator Stedmann Hodge, Jr.
12		Senator Javan E. James, Sr.
13		Senator Steven D. Payne, Sr.
14	(k) Comr	nittee of the Whole
15	Chair: Senate	or Novelle E. Francis
16	Vice-Chair:	Senator Myron D. Jackson
17	Members:	Senator Alicia V. Barnes
18		Senator Oakland Benta
19		Senator Marvin A. Blyden
20		Senator Dwayne M. DeGraff
21		Senator Allison L. DeGazon
22		Senator Donna A. Frett-Gregory
23		Senator Kenneth L. Gittens
24		Senator Stedmann Hodge, Jr.
25		Senator Javan E. James, Sr.

1	Senator Steven D. Payne, Sr.
2	Senator Janelle K. Sarauw
3	Senator Athneil "Bobby" Thomas
4	Senator Kurt A. Vialet
	Bill Summary
5	This Resolution reorganizes the Thirty-Third Legislature of the Virgin Islands and
6	reestablishes the Majority Caucus.
7	BR19-0484/May 14, 2019/EEM