79.6 F
Cruz Bay
Tuesday, July 5, 2022


Gov. Charles W. Turnbull has nominated nine people to serve on the Historic Preservation Commission – four on St. Thomas, four on St. Croix and one on St. John. The members serve two-year terms.
In St. Thomas the nominees are:
— Etienne R. Bertrand, succeeding George "Carlito" Kean whose term expired in January 1998.
— Shaneel Callwood-Daniels, succeeding Felipe Ayala Jr. whose term expired in January 1998.
— Mabel J. Maduro, succeeding Edith DeJongh Woods whose term expired in January 1998.
— Ruth Moolenaar, succeeding Philip Sturm whose term expired in September 1998.
The St. John nominee is Karen Samuel, succeeding Avelino Samuel whose term expired in July 1996.
The St. Croix nominees are:
— Hortensia D. Lanio, filling a vacant spot.
— Rupert N. Pelle, succeeding Ilma M. Christian whose term expired in September 1997.
— Carmen Gonzalez, succeeding Gerville Larsen whose term expired in January 1998.
— Norma D. Glenn, succeeding Rudolph A. Johnson whose term expired in September 1997.
Each member serves until the appointment and qualification of a successor.
Even though terms are supposed to be staggered so six members' terms expire each year, a Government House spokesman said Tuesday all nominees will serve the full two-year terms.
The commissioner of Planning and Natural Resources serves as an ex-officio member of the board as secretary.
All the nominees must be confirmed by the Legislature.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Keeping our community informed is our top priority.
If you have a news tip to share, please call or text us at 340-228-8784.

Support local + independent journalism in the U.S. Virgin Islands

Unlike many news organizations, we haven't put up a paywall – we want to keep our journalism as accessible as we can. Our independent journalism costs time, money and hard work to keep you informed, but we do it because we believe that it matters. We know that informed communities are empowered ones. If you appreciate our reporting and want to help make our future more secure, please consider donating.




Comments Box SVG iconsUsed for the like, share, comment, and reaction icons
Load more