77.8 F
Cruz Bay
Sunday, January 29, 2023



Sept. 17, 2001 – Five persons have been nominated by Gov. Charles W. Turnbull to serve on the Government Employees Retirement System Board — two reappointed and three named to new terms. All would serve three-year terms.
Leona Smith of St. John and Vincent G. Liger of St. Croix have been named to second terms. Smith works at the Licensing and Consumer Affairs Department. Liger is a social worker with the Human Services Department.
Yvonne Bowsky, former St. Thomas-St. John district school superintendent and Peace Corps School principal, has been nominated o succeed Francisco Stapleton. She is a St. Thomas resident.
Raymond James, a St. Croix resident, has been nominated to succeed Corrine A. King. James is a special assistant to the Housing, Parks and Recreation commissioner.
Marvin L. Pickering of St. Croix has been named to succeed George A. Farrelly, who died while serving on the board. Pickering is the senior vice president and chief financial officer for V.I. Rum Industries Ltd.
Continuing to serve unexpired terms on the board are John de Jongh Jr. and Carver Farrell, its chair. All nominees must be confirmed by the Legislature.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Keeping our community informed is our top priority.
If you have a news tip to share, please call or text us at 340-228-8784.

Support local + independent journalism in the U.S. Virgin Islands

Unlike many news organizations, we haven't put up a paywall – we want to keep our journalism as accessible as we can. Our independent journalism costs time, money and hard work to keep you informed, but we do it because we believe that it matters. We know that informed communities are empowered ones. If you appreciate our reporting and want to help make our future more secure, please consider donating.