77.8 F
Cruz Bay
Wednesday, December 7, 2022


Aug. 13, 2002 – The office of Elections Supervisor John Abramson Jr. released the following list of candidates for the fall primary and general elections as of the 5 p.m. Tuesday filing deadline. In each grouping, candidates are listed alphabetically by surname.
Governor / Lieutenant Governor:
Michael Bornn / Arnold M. Golden, Republican
Cora Christian / George Hodge Jr., independent
John de Jongh / Paul Arnold, independent
Alicia "Chucky" Hansen / Thomas "Eddie" Donoghue, independent
Gerard Luz James II / Maryleen Thomas, independent
Charles W. Turnbull / Vargrave Richards, Democrat
H.I. Williams / J. Marius, independent
L. Williams / K. Gonzalez Jr., independent
Delegate to Congress:
Lilliana Belardo de O'Neal, Republican
Virdin C. Brown, ICM
Donna M. Christensen, Democrat
Garry A. Sprauve, independent
Senate, St. Thomas-St. John district:
Wayne "Facts Man" Adams, independent
Dwayne A. Benjamin, independent
Lorraine L. Berry, Democrat
Lawrence "Larry" Boschulte, Republican
Donald "Ducks" Cole, independent
Roosevelt St. C. David, Democrat
Adlah "Foncie" Donastorg, independent
Carlton "Ital" Dowe, independent
Gilmore Estrill Sr., Democrat
Stephen "Smokey" Frett, independent
Nicholas "Nick" Friday, independent
Louis P. Hill, Democrat
Kevin Robert Jennings, Republican
Winthrop Maduro, Democrat
Shawn-Michael Malone, Democrat
Norma Pickard-Samuel, independent
Riise Smith Richards, independent
Kevin A. Rodriquez, Democrat
Malik Sekou, independent
Ludrick Thomas, independent
Patricia Varlack, independent
Celestino A. White St., independent
Alvin Williams, independent
Senate, St. Croix district:
Robert Acosta, Republican
Elroi E. Baumann, Democrat
Ramon Benitez, independent
Adelbert M. "Bert" Bryan, ICM
Douglas E. Canton Jr., Democrat
Reuben Fenton, Republican
Juan Figueroa-Serville, Democrat
Hope Gibson, independent
Oneida Dione Granger, independent
Emmett Hansen II, independent
Malcolm Harris, Democrat
G. Luz A. James, Democrat
Norman Jn Baptiste, independent
David S. Jones, Democrat
Noel Loftus, Republican
Steve Nisky, independent
Mary Ann Pickard, Democrat
Luther F. Renee, Democrat
Raymond "Usie" Richards, ICM
Luis Antonio Rodriguez, independent
Ronald E. Russell, Democrat
Michael Thurland, Democrat
Ophelia "Nemmy" Williams-Felix, Democrat
Senate, at large:
Craig Barshinger, Democrat
Harry A. Daniel, Democrat
Almando "Rocky" Liburd, ICM
Wilma Marsh Monsanto, Republican
Board of Elections, St. Thomas-St. John district:
George Blackhall, Republican
Aubrey E. Bridgewater Jr., Democrat
Thomas "Tom" Dunn, Democrat
Leon Alvin Powell, Republican
Donna F. Roberts, independent
Arturo Watlington Jr., Democrat
Board of Elections, St. Croix district:
David A. Benjamin, ICM
Dodson K. James, Democrat
Evelyn Messer James, Democrat
Elizabeth P. Lynch, Democrat
Carmen Marrero-O'Reilly, Democrat
Humberto de O'Neal, Republican
Emilio Rodrigues Jr., Democrat
Rupert Ross Jr., Democrat
Raymond J. Williams, independent
Democratic Party:
James O'Bryan, chair
Abdullah Saleem, chair
Marylyn A. Stapleton, chair
Territorial Committee, St. Thomas-St. John district:
Elmo A. Adams Jr. – chair
Carla Joseph – chair
Elmo A. Adams Jr.
June A. Adams
Ervin C. Dorsett
Thomas "Tom" Dunn
Michael Farrington
Gerald E. Hodge Sr.
Pierina Jacobs-McBrowne
Sunil Mohanani
Angel "Junie" Turnbull
Territorial Committee, St. Croix district:
Irving L. Straun – chair
Terrence Thomas Joseph – chair
Sonia L. Boyce
Paul Flemming
Sirri Hamad
Cenita "C.C." Heywood
Collin Hodge
Raymond T. James
David A. Molloy
Kearney Nichols
Arthur Cedric Petersen Jr.
Cedric Prince
Rupert Ross Jr.
Irving L. Straun
St. Claire N. Williams
Territorial Committee, at large:
Horace T. Brooks
Gregory Francis
Carmen Gonzalez
Omar B.U. Henry
Luis "Tito" Morales
Glen J. Smith
Marylyn A. Stapleton
Gloria H. Canegata Waterman
Independent Citizens Movement:
Territorial Committee, St. Thomas-St. John district:
Liston Davis
Gene K. Emanuel
Albion V. Lambertis
Andre Ottley
Elma L.D. Smith
Gladys M. Todman
Territorial Committee, St. Croix district:
Wilmot A. Edwards
Mary L. Moorhead
Alexander A. Petersen
Serafin Suarez
Territorial Committee, at large:
Virdin C. Brown
Juan A. Santiago
Levron Sarauw
Elise Vialet
Republican Party:
State chair:
Lawrence "Larry" Boschulte
Wilma Marsh Monsanto
April Newland
James M. Oliver
Territorial Committee, St. Thomas-St. John district:
Alston J. Brewster
Shirley Bronston
Roberto Dawson
Territorial Committee, St. Croix district:
Lilliana Belardo de O'Neal
Reuben Fentch
Humberto de O'Neal
Territorial Committee, at large:
Hughette Boulware
Julio Brady
Renaldo Callwood
Vincen "Beef" Clendinen
Frank Davis
Kirk Rient Grybowski
James Martin
Patricia G. Murphy
April Newland
Gladys Orr
Leon Alvin Powell
Herbert Schoenbohm
Fred Vialet Jr.

Publisher's note : Like the St. Croix Source now? Find out how you can love us twice as much — and show your support for the islands' free and independent news voice … click here.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Keeping our community informed is our top priority.
If you have a news tip to share, please call or text us at 340-228-8784.

Support local + independent journalism in the U.S. Virgin Islands

Unlike many news organizations, we haven't put up a paywall – we want to keep our journalism as accessible as we can. Our independent journalism costs time, money and hard work to keep you informed, but we do it because we believe that it matters. We know that informed communities are empowered ones. If you appreciate our reporting and want to help make our future more secure, please consider donating.