85 F
Cruz Bay
Wednesday, July 24, 2024


Sept. 19, 2002 – The V.I. Department of Education announced Thursday that five recent graduates from St. Thomas high schools have been named as 2002 Robert C. Byrd Scholarship recipients. Each will receive a $1,500 award, which is renewable up to four years if the student maintains eligibility.
The outstanding students are Ashley Courlas, Elenoe C. Smith, Deon LeCointe, Rishaun D. Malone, and J'nelle Scarbriel.
Courlas, an Antilles School graduate, is attending Cornell University. She is the daughter of Jan and George Courlas.
Smith also graduated from Antilles, and she is now attending Princeton University. She is the daughter of Henry and Muriel Smith.
LeCointe, a graduate of Charlotte Amalie High School, attends University of Miami. He is the son of Enette LeCointe.
Malone, the son of Denise D. Abramsen, also graduated from CAHS. He is attending the University of Miami as well.
Scarbriel, a one year recipient of the scholarship, graduated from All Saints School. The daughter of Patrice Scarbriel is attending University of Delaware.
The Byrd Scholarship is administered annually by the V.I. Department of Education, in compliance with the Higher Education Act of 1965.

Publisher's note : Like the St. John Source now? Find out how you can love us twice as much — and show your support for the islands' free and independent news voice … click here.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Keeping our community informed is our top priority.
If you have a news tip to share, please call or text us at 340-228-8784.

Support local + independent journalism in the U.S. Virgin Islands

Unlike many news organizations, we haven't put up a paywall – we want to keep our journalism as accessible as we can. Our independent journalism costs time, money and hard work to keep you informed, but we do it because we believe that it matters. We know that informed communities are empowered ones. If you appreciate our reporting and want to help make our future more secure, please consider donating.