86.8 F
Cruz Bay
Friday, June 21, 2024


Feb. 2, 2004 — The V.I. Board of Education has begun its annual visits to the territory's public schools for the 2003-04 school year.
Monday the board's Facilities Committee, which handles the visitations, visited the Arthur Richards Junior High, Claude O. Markoe Elementary, and Alexander Henderson Elementary on St. Croix.
Board Members Dr. Malik Sekou, Claudette Petersen, Harry Daniels, Keith Richards and Terrence D. Joseph serve on the committee. However, any member of the board can participate in the scheduled visits.
The V.I. Code requires that the members of VIBE visit each school in the territory at least once each school year.
"It's really just meant to keep board members in touch with the schools and to allow them firsthand contact with administrators, teachers and students," VIBE Executive Director Tregenza Roach said.
Roach said if problems are brought to the committee's attention, the concerns will be aired at the next board meeting and are then brought before the commissioner of education. Board members take note of the school facilities, grounds and various programs.
The V.I. Board of Education has announced the following schedule of school visits for February and March 2004:

District of St. Croix

Feb. 2
9 a.m. – Arthur A. Richards Junior High
10:30 a.m. – Claude O. Markoe Elementary
noon – Alexander Henderson Elementary
Feb. 5
9 a.m. – Eulalie Rivera Elementary
10:30 a.m. – Educational Complex
noon – Charles Emanuel Elementary
Feb. 9
9 a.m. – Evelyn Williams Elementary
10:30 a.m. – John H. Woodson Junior High
noon – Alfredo Andrews Elementary
Feb. 11
9 a.m. – St. Croix Central High
10:30 a.m. – Ricardo Richards Elementary
noon – Lew Muckle Elementary
Feb. 18
9 a.m. – Juanita Gardine Elementary
10:30 a.m. – Elena Christian Junior High
noon – Pearl B. Larsen Elementary
St. Thomas/St. John District

Feb. 4
9 a.m. – Ivanna Eudora Kean High
10:30 a.m. – Bertha C. Boschulte Junior High
noon – E. Benjamin Oliver Elementary
Feb. 10
9 a.m. – Joseph Gomez Elementary
10:30 a.m. – Edith Williams Elementary
noon – Peace Corps Elementary
Feb. 13
9 a.m. – Lockhart Elementary
10:30 a.m. – Charlotte Amalie High
noon – J. Antonio Jarvis Elementary
Feb. 18
9 a.m. – Evelyn Marcelli Elementary
10:30 a.m. – Dober Elementary
noon – Ulla F. Muller Elementary
Feb. 20
9 a.m. – Kirwan Terrace Elementary
10:30 a.m. – Jane E. Tuitt Elementary
noon – Joseph Sibilly Elementary
March 3
9:30 a.m. – Julius E. Sprauve School
11:30 a.m. – Guy Benjamin Elementary

Publisher's note : Like the St. John Source now? Find out how you can love us twice as much — and show your support for the islands' free and independent news voice … click here.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Keeping our community informed is our top priority.
If you have a news tip to share, please call or text us at 340-228-8784.

Support local + independent journalism in the U.S. Virgin Islands

Unlike many news organizations, we haven't put up a paywall – we want to keep our journalism as accessible as we can. Our independent journalism costs time, money and hard work to keep you informed, but we do it because we believe that it matters. We know that informed communities are empowered ones. If you appreciate our reporting and want to help make our future more secure, please consider donating.