83.2 F
Cruz Bay
Tuesday, July 5, 2022
HomeNewsArchives2003-2004 V.I. PUBLIC SCHOOL CALENDAR

2003-2004 V.I. PUBLIC SCHOOL CALENDAR

Editor's note:: Revisions have been made in the 2003-2004 School Calendar, according to a January release from the V.I. Education Department. Included are three make-up days caused by time lost during November's rains. There are changes from February forward to both the Senior High calendar, revised Dec. 18, 2003, and the Elementary/Junior High calendar, revised Jan. 12, 2004.
Aug. 21, 2003 — The Education Department's Office of the Commissioner has announced the 2003-2004 school calendar for Virgin Islands public schools. According to the release, it was revised on June 2.
Personnel Schedule
[Personnel, report date – departure date]
— Secretarial/Clerical Personnel & Kitchen Managers, Aug. 11, 2003 – June 25, 2004
–Kitchen Workers, Aug. 18, 2003 – June 22, 2004
–Principals, Assistant Principals, Coordinators, Supervisors & Bus Drivers, Aug. 18, 2003 – June 18, 2004
–New Teachers, Aug. 20, 2003 – June 15, 2004
–Guidance Counselors & Paraprofessionals, Aug. 21, 2003 – June 17, 2004
–Returning Teachers, Registrars, Attendance Counselors, Diagnosticians, Psychologists & School Nurses, Aug. 22, 2003 – June 15, 2004
Senior High schools – Important Dates to Remember
Monday, Aug. 25, 2003, School opens
Monday, Aug. 25, Students return to school
Monday, Sept. 1, Labor Day
Monday, Oct. 13, Puerto Rico/Virgin Islands Friendship Day
Friday, Oct. 17, St. Croix Mini Quest
Monday, Oct. 20, St. Thomas-St. John Mini Quest
Tuesday, Oct. 28, First marking period ends
Wednesday, Oct. 29, Second marking period begins
Saturday, Nov. 1, D. Hamilton Jackson Day
Tuesday, Nov. 11, Veterans' Day
Thursday-Friday, Nov. 27-28, Thanksgiving holiday
Dec. 20-Jan. 6, 2004, Christmas vacation
Jan. 6, Three Kings Day
Wednesday, Jan. 7, School re-opens
Monday, Jan. 19, Martin Luther King Jr. Day observed
Make-up days or Option B, Jan. 21-23
Monnesday, Jan. 26, Second marking period ends
Thursday & Friday, Jan. 27 & 28, Turn-around days
Thursday, Jan. 29, Third marking period begins
Monday, Feb. 16, Presidents Day
Wednesday, March 31, Transfer Day
Friday, April 2, Third marking period ends
Monday, April 5, Fourth marking period begins
April 8-12, Easter vacation
April 28-30, Carnival observances
Monday, May 31, Memorial Day
Thursday, June 15, School ends
June 16-17, Built-in make-up days or Option B (Senior High)
Thursday, June 17, School ends.
Elementary and Junior High schools – Important Dates to Remember
Monday, Aug. 25, 2003, School opens
Monday, Aug. 25, Students return to school
Monday, Sept. 1, Labor Day
Monday, Oct. 13, Puerto Rico/Virgin Islands Friendship Day
Friday, Oct. 17, St. Croix Mini Quest
Monday, Oct. 20, St. Thomas-St. John Mini Quest
Tuesday, Oct. 28, First marking period ends
Wednesday, Oct. 29, Second marking period begins
Saturday, Nov. 1, D. Hamilton Jackson Day
Tuesday, Nov. 11, Veterans' Day
Thursday-Friday, Nov. 27-28, Thanksgiving holiday
Dec. 22-Jan. 6, 2004, Christmas vacation
Jan. 6, Three Kings Day
Wednesday, Jan. 7, School re-opens
Monday, Jan. 19, Martin Luther King Jr. Day observed
Jan. 21-23, Make-up days/Option B
Monday, Jan. 26, Second marking period ends
Tuesday, Jan. 27, Third marking period begins
Monday, Feb. 16, Presidents Day
Tuesday, March 30, Third marking period ends
Wednesday, March 31, Transfer Day
Thursday, April 1, Fourth marking period begins
April 8-12, Easter vacation
April 28-30, Carnival observances
Monday, May 31, Memorial Day
Tuesday, June 11, School ends
June 14-15, Built-in make-up days/Option B
Tuesday, June 15, School ends/Option B.

Publisher's note : Like the St. Thomas Source now? Find out how you can love us twice as much — and show your support for the islands' free and independent news voice … click here.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Keeping our community informed is our top priority.
If you have a news tip to share, please call or text us at 340-228-8784.
Previous article2003-2004 V.I. PUBLIC SCHOOL CALENDAR
Next articletest




Support local + independent journalism in the U.S. Virgin Islands

Unlike many news organizations, we haven't put up a paywall – we want to keep our journalism as accessible as we can. Our independent journalism costs time, money and hard work to keep you informed, but we do it because we believe that it matters. We know that informed communities are empowered ones. If you appreciate our reporting and want to help make our future more secure, please consider donating.



STAY CONNECTED

20,771FansLike
4,753FollowersFollow

FROM FACEBOOK

Comments Box SVG iconsUsed for the like, share, comment, and reaction icons
Load more