No One Shows Up for Public Meeting On Fisheries Plan

March 21, 2005 – Sens. Roosevelt David and Juan Figueroa-Serville have been appointed to serve on the Public Services Commission.
In a news release issued Monday, Senate President Lorraine Berry announced her recent appointing of the senators to serve as non-voting members of the commission charged with regulating the territory's utilities.
In accordance with the V.I. Code, two senators – one from each district – must be appointed by the Senate president to serve on the PSC at the beginning of each new Legislature. Berry said the code does not give any other criteria for selection of the senators.
Of her selections Berry said, "Neither senator chairs a committee, so I felt they would have more time to attend PSC meetings."
David said Monday evening his appointment was unexpected. He added, despite his inability to vote on the commission, he will attend the PSC hearings and get himself "versed" with the issues to be able to render opinions where he can.
"If I'm called to serve, I'll serve and serve objectively," David said.
Figueroa-Serville did not return calls Monday.
Sen. Shawn-Michael Malone and former Sen. Luther Renee preceeded Figueroa-Serville and David on the commission. The voting members presently serving on the commission are: Chairman Valencio Jackson, and members Jerris Browne, Yvette Canegetta-Jones, Verne David, Desmond Maynard, Alric Simmonds and Alecia Wells.
PSC Executive Director Keithley Joseph was unavailable for comment Monday. Jackson did not return calls.
Back Talk

Share your reaction to this news with other Source readers. Please include headline, your name and city and state/country or island where you reside.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email