79.6 F
Cruz Bay
Monday, July 22, 2024
HomeNewsArchivesV.I. Democrats Name Delegate Candidates

V.I. Democrats Name Delegate Candidates

Jan. 20, 2008 — The Virgin Islands Democratic Party (VIDP) on Sunday released the names of candidates for delegates to the 2008 Democratic National Convention in Denver, Col., Aug. 25-28, 2008. and polling places for the Feb. 9 caucus. All Democrats must vote for their presidential preference and the local candidates of their choice.
In the St. Croix District, the candidates are:
-Carolyn “Lyn” M. Burke
-Omar B.U. Henry
-Marise C. James
-Dodson K. James
-Wanda L. C. Morris
-Verdel Petersen
-Elizabeth Pichardo
-Shawna K. Richards
-Robert Rios
-Anastasia Rivers
In the St. Thomas-St. John District, the candidates are:
-Jason Budsan
-Sebastiano Paiewonsky Cassinelli
-Barbara Dalmida-Thompson
-Edouard “Eddie” T. deLagarde
-Shawn-Michael Malone
-James A. O'Bryan Jr.
-Arah C. Lockhart
-Hector A. Squiabro
-Marc L. Stridiron
-Athniel “Bobby” J. Thomas
The selection of delegates will occur on Saturday, Feb. 9, from 11 a.m. to 7 p.m. Caucus sites are Gertrude’s Restaurant on St. Croix, Charlotte Amalie High School Modular Classroom 2 on St. Thomas and Julius Sprauve School on St. John.
Voters will cast two votes. The first will be a single vote for the candidate of their choice for President of the United States. The second vote will be for the delegates who are committed to their same presidential choice. For example, if a voter casts a vote for Hillary Rodham Clinton as their presidential choice, then they can only cast a vote for delegates committed to Hillary Rodham Clinton. If a voter’s presidential choice does not match with the presidential choice of the delegate they select, the ballot will be considered spoiled.
“This is an exciting time for Virgin Islands Democrats,” said party executive director Simon Caines. “This will be the first time rank-and-file Democrats will be able to specifically cast votes for President of the United States. This vote will be more than symbolic because they will select delegates who will cast votes for their presidential choice at the convention.”
The Virgin Islands delegation will be comprised of 12 delegates who will cast 9 votes at the convention. “In this very close Democratic presidential race, those 9 votes will be critical in deciding who wins the party’s nomination,” Caines said. Six of those 12 delegates will be selected at the Feb. 9 caucus. The remaining 6 are Super Delegates by virtue of their position in the party. They are Governor John P. deJongh Jr., Delegate Donna Christensen, State Chair Cecil Benjamin, Vice Chair Marylyn Stapleton, National Committeewoman Carol M. Burke and National Committeeman Kevin Rodriquez.
Back Talk

Share your reaction to this news with other Source readers. Please include headline, your name and city and state/country or island where you reside.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Keeping our community informed is our top priority.
If you have a news tip to share, please call or text us at 340-228-8784.

Support local + independent journalism in the U.S. Virgin Islands

Unlike many news organizations, we haven't put up a paywall – we want to keep our journalism as accessible as we can. Our independent journalism costs time, money and hard work to keep you informed, but we do it because we believe that it matters. We know that informed communities are empowered ones. If you appreciate our reporting and want to help make our future more secure, please consider donating.