81.4 F
Cruz Bay
Saturday, April 20, 2024
HomeCommunityOrganizationsCFVI Seeking Nominations for Euan P. McFarlane Environmental Award

CFVI Seeking Nominations for Euan P. McFarlane Environmental Award

The Euan P. McFarlane Award was established in 1987 to provide recognition for persons demonstrating initiative, resourcefulness and leadership in promoting conservation and enhancement of the environment in the insular Caribbean, with priority given to the smaller islands of the eastern Caribbean.

Endowment funding for the award was provided by the late Laurance S. Rockefeller, and the program was initially administered by Island Resources Foundation from 1987-2014. The McFarlane Leadership Award is now managed by the Community Foundation of the Virgin Islands (CFVI) as a part of its program of support of youth, learning, family support and the environment.

Nominees for the award should be persons who have applied themselves to the preservation of the natural or the built environment on one or more of the small islands of the Caribbean and whose career or avocation demonstrates an appreciation of and support for the advancement of environmental stewardship and balanced development in the Caribbean.

Eligibility: Any resident of a Caribbean island is eligible for nomination, although priority consideration will be given to residents of the smaller eastern Caribbean islands. Any interested individual or organization familiar with the nominee may make a nomination. Self-nominations will not be accepted.

Cash Award: Each selected McFarlane Award recipient will receive an unrestricted US$1,000 cash award. Nominations: Nominations should consist of a letter of application from the nominator, not to exceed three single-spaced typed pages, stating the background, accomplishments and merits of the person nominated. The nominator must supply the names, addresses, telephone numbers and e-mail addresses of at least three other persons familiar with the nominee’s work and accomplishments, who could be contacted for additional information. Attachments that support the nomination (e.g., press clippings, testimonials, copies of publications, letters of endorsement, etc.) may accompany the letter but are not required and cannot be returned. Nominations are preferred as e-mails and attachments, and shoul be e-mailed to dbrown@cfvi.net

Award Criteria: Nominations will be reviewed by an Advisory Committee of individuals familiar with the region, and the award will be based on an assessment of how well the nominee meets the following general criteria:

• Nominee’s role in increasing public awareness about conservation issues

• Nominee’s achievements in helping to formulate public policy that balances economic development objectives with sustainable development goals

• Nominee’s accomplishments in strengthening public or private sector institutions and organizations concerned with conservation, preservation or resource management issues

• Nominee’s role in developing, promoting or assisting programs or policies that conserve or protect key elements of the natural or built environment in the Caribbean

• Nominee’s potential for future environmental leadership in the insular Caribbean

McFarlane Award Recipients 1988-2015

1988: Yves Renard of St. Lucia

1989: Mervin Williams of St. Lucia

1990: Ronald Charles and Arlington James of Dominica

1991: Alissandra Cummins of Barbados

1992-93: Kevel C. Lindsay of Antigua

1994-95: Jalaludin Ahmad Khan of Trinidad

1996-97: Reginald Murphy and Maurice Widdowson of Antigua and St. Kitts

1998: Andrew Simpson of U. S. Virgin Islands

1999: Ian Lambie of Trinidad

2000: David Robinson of Nevis

2001: Charles Chavoudiga of Guadeloupe

2002: Jacqueline and Larry Armony of St. Kitts

2003: Dr. Brian Cooper of Antigua

2004: Dr. Joth Singh of Barbados

2005: Diana McCaulay of Jamaica

2006: Raymond Walker of British Virgin Islands

2007: Dr. I. Earle A. Kirby of St. Vincent

2008-2009: Rueben J. Thompson of St. Maarten

2010: Albert Hugh “Errol” Harris of Dominica

2011-2012: Karim Hodge of Anguilla

2013: Patricia Turpin of Tobago

2014: John Mussington of Barbuda

2015: Kester Charles of Grenada

Send nominations to:

Euan P. McFarlane Environmental Leadership Award

Community Foundation of the Virgin Islands

Attention: Dee Baecher-Brown, President

Post Office Box 11790, St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands 00801

Telephone: 774-6031; Fax: 774-3852 E-mail: dbrown@cfvi.net

Nominations must be postmarked by, or e-mailed or faxed no later than Dec. 15, 2016.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Keeping our community informed is our top priority.
If you have a news tip to share, please call or text us at 340-228-8784.

Support local + independent journalism in the U.S. Virgin Islands

Unlike many news organizations, we haven't put up a paywall – we want to keep our journalism as accessible as we can. Our independent journalism costs time, money and hard work to keep you informed, but we do it because we believe that it matters. We know that informed communities are empowered ones. If you appreciate our reporting and want to help make our future more secure, please consider donating.