76.1 F
Cruz Bay
Thursday, December 3, 2020
Home News Local news Semi-Final Election Lineup: 110 Candidates On the USVI Ballot This Year

Semi-Final Election Lineup: 110 Candidates On the USVI Ballot This Year

St. Thomas-St. John Sample Primary Ballot for August 4

At present, 110 individual candidates are on the official listing issued by the Supervisor of Elections for this year’s Sat., Aug. 4 primary and Tues., Nov. 6 general election.

Incumbent Democrat Stacey Plaskett is running unopposed to represent the territory in Congress. There are 9 teams officially running for the office of governor and lieutenant governor. Two more candidates, Sen. Positive Nelson and Gary Udhwani, filed nomination papers but Supervisor of Elections Caroline Fawkes disqualified many of the petition signatures due to Udhwani not being registered to vote at the time the signatures were collected. The issue is being decided in court.

Five individuals are running for the position of at-large senator, with three facing off in the Saturday, Aug. 4 Democratic Party primary. Twenty-five people are running for St. Thomas’ seven seats in the Legislature, with 14 Democrats vying in the primary for seven spots on the ballot. St. Croix has 29 candidates for the Legislature, with 17 Democrats vying for seven spots on the ballot. Six are running for the Board of Education and nine for the Board of Elections. And 27 people are seeking party offices.

Many incumbents are running again. Delegate Stacey Plaskett is seeking reelection to Congress and Gov. Kenneth Mapp and Lt. Gov. Osbert Potter are seeking reelection.

St. Croix Sample Primary Ballot for August 4
Advertising (skip)

While most incumbent senators also are seeking reelection, several are instead seeking higher office. Sens. Janette Millin Young and Positive Nelson are both running for governor. Sens. Tregenza Roach, Sammuel Sanes and Alicia “Chucky” Hansen are both seeking the office of lieutenant governor. Sen. Nereida Rivera-O’Reilly is not listed as a candidate for reelection to her St. Croix seat.

Many past office holders are running again. Former Sens. Allison Petrus and Adlah “Foncie” Donastorg are running for governor. Norman Jn Baptiste, Steven “Smokey” Frett, Juan Figueroa-Serville, Emmett Hansen and Kenneth Gittens are among the former senators seeking to rejoin that body.

Here are the 2018 candidates for USVI office. Those running in the August 4 primary are in italics.


Delegate to Congress:

Stacey Plaskett, Democrat


Governor and Lieutenant Governor:

Kenneth Mapp and Osbert Potter, no party

Albert Bryan and Tregenza Roach, Democrats

Warren Mosler and Ray Fonseca, no party

Allison Petrus and Samuel Sanes, Democrats

Moleto A Smith Jr. and Hubert Lorenzo Frederick, no party

Adlah “Foncie” Donastorg and Alicia “Chucky” Hansen, no party

Soraya Diase Coffelt and Dwight E. Nicholson, no party

Janette Millin Young and Edgar L. Bengoa, no party

Angel Dawson and Marise James, Democrats



Stacie January, Democrat

Steven D. Payne, Democrat

Brian A. Smith, Democrat

Sherry-Ann Francis, no party

Angel Bolques Jr., no party


Senatorial candidates in St. Thomas and St. John:

Stedmann Hodge Jr., Democrat

Marvin A. Blyden, Democrat

Albert F. Richardson, Democrat

Jonathan Paul Tucker Jr. Democrat

Jean A. Forde, Democrat

Carla Joseph, Democrat

Donna Frett Gregory, Democrat

Sean “Skooly” Georges, Democrat

Athneil “Bobby” Thomas, Democrat

Randolph Thomas, Democrat

Myron D. Jackson. Democrat

Randolph N. Bennett, Democrat

Beatrice M Gumbs, Democrat

Kent G. Bernier Sr., Democrat

Bruce C. Flamon, Republican

Alma Francis Heyliger, ICM

Steven Smokey Frett, ICM

Wilma Marsh Monsanto, no party

Dwayne DeGraff, no party

Margaret Price no party

Irvin “Pudna” Mason, Sr., no party

Dolores Todmann, no party

Janelle K Sarauw, no party

Gustave R. Dowling Jr., no party

George Trager, no party


Senatorial candidates in St. Croix

Kenneth L. Gittens, Democrat

Alicia Barnes, Democrat

Javan James, Democrat

Robert B. Moorhead, Republican

Ronald Hammer, Democrat

Allison DeGazon, Democrat

Kurt Vialet, Democrat

Oakland Benta , Democrat

Lilliana Belardo DeOneal, Republican

Neville James, Democrat

Carew Felix, no party

Novelle E. Francis Jr., Democrat

Dean R. Andrews, Democrat

Malik Stridiron, no party

Norman Jn Baptiste, no party

Annette L.S. Scott, Democrat

Patricia James, no party

Juan Figueroa-Serville, Democrat

Omar Hashim Henry, no party

Michael J. Springer, Jr. no party

Troy Mason, Democrat

Emmett Hansen, no party

Karen Chancellor, Democrat

Ophellia Williams-Jackson, Democrat

Daren R. Stevens, no party

Douglas Canton, Democrat

Abraham Ortiz, no party

Terrence D. Joseph, Democrat

Genevieve Whitaker, no party


Board of Elections:

Atanya Springette, Democrat

Harriet A. Mercer, Republican

Barbara Jackson-McIntosh, Democrat

Raymond J. Williams, Democrat

Eduardo Carmona, Democrat

Frederick R. Espinosa, Republican


Board of Education:

Judy Gomez, Democrat, STT

Jeanette Smith-Barry, Democrat, STT

Nandi Se’Kou no party, STT

Shawna Richards, Democrat, STX

Winona A. Hendricks, Democrat, STX

Terrence T. Joseph, Democrat, STX

Susanna Callwood-Smith, Democrat, STX

Emmanuella Perez-Cassius, Democrat, STX

Carmen Rodriguez, no party, STX


Party offices:


Democrats – STT

Edgar B Phillips, District Chair, STT District

Riise E.S. Richards, Territorial Committee, STT District

Clement Magras, Territorial Committee, STT District

Rudolph Anthony Greene, Territorial Committee, At Large

Riise E.S. Richards, Territorial Committee, At Large,

Marilyn A. Stapleton,Territorial Committee, At Large

Horace A. Callwood, Territorial Committee,At Large

Roger B. Minkoff, Territorial Committee, STT District

Dwayne Benjamin, Territorial Committee, At Large

Urdley N. Smith, Territorial Committee, At Large



Florine Audain Hassell, Territorial Committee, At-Large

Donna M. Christensen, Territorial Committee, STX District

Sonia Boyce, Territorial Committee, STX District

Lauretta Petersen, Territorial Committee, At-Large

Renee McAlpin-Petersen, STX District Chair

Peter A. Abrahams, Territorial Committee, STX District

Shelley Thomas, Territorial Committee, At-Large

Cecil R. Benjamin, State Chair

Cecil R. Benjamin, Territorial Committee, STX District

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Support the VI Source

Unlike many news organizations, we haven't put up a paywall - we want to keep our journalism as open as we can. Our sites are more popular than ever, but advertising revenues are falling - so you can see why we could use your help. Our independent journalism costs time, money and hard work to keep you informed, but we do it because we believe that it matters. If everybody who appreciates our reporting efforts were to help fund it for as little as $1, our future would be much more secure. Thanks in advance for your support!





Comments Box SVG iconsUsed for the like, share, comment, and reaction icons
Load more
Print Friendly, PDF & Email