84.3 F
Cruz Bay
Thursday, June 20, 2024
HomeCommunitySchoolsUVI Student Government Association Installs New Officers

UVI Student Government Association Installs New Officers

SGA President Christopher McDonald speaks to audience

The University of the Virgin Islands’ Student Government Association (SGA) Installed newly elected officers this fall at a ceremony held in the Administration and Conference Building on the St. Thomas Campus. This governing body will serve on the St. Thomas Campus for the 2019-2020 academic year.

SGA Executive Board members are:
· Board of Trustees – Raven Phillips
· President – Christopher McDonald
· Vice-President – Torhera Durand
· Treasurer – Ozziesha Liburd
· Appointed Secretary – Joevarny Herbert
· Appointed Public Relations – Michael Garcia

SGA Legislative Board members are:
· Freshman Senators: Fritzlanda André, Krista Jasman and Khaysaun Vanterpool
· Sophomore Senators: Keturah Harrigan and Sumaiyah Richardson
· Junior Senators: Khaleila Krall and Mary-Alice Prosper
· Senior Senators: Jamilla Connor and Sherkquan Henry

SGA President Christopher McDonald and SGA Vice President Torhera Durand

“You are stepping into a very powerful tradition because there have been those who have gone before you who have done great things to make this institution better,” said UVI President David Hall, who offered congratulations and his take on leadership. “I always argue that UVI is what it is today because of the leadership and the advocacy of student leaders on both of our campuses. So, we are asking you to carry on that particular tradition.”

Also in attendance were Verna Rivers, dean of students; Leon Lafond, director of student activities and SGA advisor; Sen. Myron Jackson; Rev. Dr. Gerald McDonald; and Sen. Janelle K. Sarauw, keynote speaker.

Sen. Sarauw highlighted past leaders of the United States, the Virgin Islands and the rest of the world as a way to show newly elected officers and members key traits and characteristics of a good leader. She made mention of Dr. Martin Luther King, Mary Thomas ‘Queen Mary,’ Queen Coziah, Oliver Brown and Moses Gottlieb “General Buddhoe.”

SGA Officers group photo

“Dr. King once said ‘Change does not roll in on the wheels of inevitability, but comes through continuous struggle,’” said Sarauw. “The people of the Virgin Islands, your era cannot and should not sit silent. Those before us had voices to speak up in the face of colonialism, slavery, the holocaust, apartheid and Jim Crow.”

The senator added that leadership requires consensus, courage, empathy, honesty and the ability to admit when you are wrong. “Each generation will have their own leaders, and you are them.”

“You have been called to lead. You have been called to lead within this university. It will mark the beginning of civic engagement and public service. Own your greatness, walk in your purpose, work your purpose, lead and bring forth,” she said.

“It is a great honor to be in a position to represent the students of the University of the Virgin Islands,” said SGA President Christopher McDonald. “UVI students are one of the most intelligent, creative and innovative groups of students. We are given endless opportunities to represent our university and participate at various programs.”

Torhera Durand, SGA vice president, said, “Leadership isn’t always about knowing what you can change. It’s about wanting to change something and being brave enough to at least try. Becoming newly appointed members of SGA has given us the space to incite change, to make a difference, and to improve our university in any way that we can.”
“In tandem with our fellow board members I know that we will make improvements to UVI and student life at UVI for many years to come,” Durand said.

“We were elected for a reason, students believed in us. We must ensure that we stay committed to what we score (sic) to do and not just committed but be consistent in phrasing complaints and finding solutions,” said Miss UVI 2019-2020 Sherkquan Henry, who serves as senior senator. “Be consistent in promoting activities for fun as well as promoting activities that build the academics, the leadership and the spirit of the students within our school.”

SGA Standing Committees Chairpersons:
· Black Heritage Committee – Isis Collier
· Elections Committee – Taquanna Baron
· Food Committee – Samara Cherival
· Grievance Committee – Tomy Romero
· Publications Committee – Peter Baptiste
· Queens Committee – Sharnice Richardson
· Social and Cultural Committee – Mary-Alice Prosper
· Sports Committee – Roberto Tirado
· Planning Committee – Jerrisa Lake

The SGA is concerned with improving the quality of the lives of students through communication channels and by providing opportunities for each student to participate in activities that develop and realize individual potentialities and leadership skills as well as [by] aiding in meaningful interpretation of the concepts of the ‘University Community.’

For more information, contact the Public Relations Office at 693-1059 or pr@uvi.edu

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Keeping our community informed is our top priority.
If you have a news tip to share, please call or text us at 340-228-8784.

Support local + independent journalism in the U.S. Virgin Islands

Unlike many news organizations, we haven't put up a paywall – we want to keep our journalism as accessible as we can. Our independent journalism costs time, money and hard work to keep you informed, but we do it because we believe that it matters. We know that informed communities are empowered ones. If you appreciate our reporting and want to help make our future more secure, please consider donating.