77.8 F
Cruz Bay
Thursday, April 18, 2024
HomeNewsArchivesAFT Announces Winners of Scholarships

AFT Announces Winners of Scholarships

June 4, 2007 – The St. Croix Federation of Teachers announced the recipients of their 2007 Scholarship Awards:
Nneka Richards of St. Croix Educational Complex; Jenine A. Rossington of St. Croix Educational Complex, Diana M. King of St. Croix Educational Complex, Austin Fabio of St. Croix Central High School and Luanda Garcia of St. Joseph High School.
AFT local 1826 awarded five $1,000 one-time scholarships this year. Requirements included: submission of a transcript for the seven preceding semesters, a letter of recommendation, a letter from the applicant giving biographical data and current educational aspirations, a letter of acceptance to a post secondary school, a minimum 3.0 overall GPA, submission of questionnaire, and evidence of at least 50 hours of community service. All applicants must be a dependent of an AFT member.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Keeping our community informed is our top priority.
If you have a news tip to share, please call or text us at 340-228-8784.

Support local + independent journalism in the U.S. Virgin Islands

Unlike many news organizations, we haven't put up a paywall – we want to keep our journalism as accessible as we can. Our independent journalism costs time, money and hard work to keep you informed, but we do it because we believe that it matters. We know that informed communities are empowered ones. If you appreciate our reporting and want to help make our future more secure, please consider donating.