83.2 F
Cruz Bay
Wednesday, June 19, 2024
HomeNewsLocal newsMapp Announces 11 More Commission and Board Appointments

Mapp Announces 11 More Commission and Board Appointments

Gov. Kenneth Mapp announced almost a dozen new board and commission nominees and appointments Wednesday, filling empty and expired seats and putting his mark on the landscape of myriad V.I. volunteer government boards.

Mapp nominated three people to replace V.I. Port Authority Governing Board members with expired terms and one new member to the V.I. Water and Power Authority Governing Board, according to Government House.

The nominees to the VIPA board are Hugh Pemberton for the District of St. Croix; Michael Watson for the District of St. John and Shirlene Taylor for the District of St. Croix. If confirmed by the Legislature, they will serve three-year terms. If confirmed, Taylor will be replacing Manuel Gutierrez; Watson will replace Robert O’Connor, Jr.; and Pemberton will replace Hector Peguero.

“It is my pleasure to ask the advice and consent of the 31st Legislature on these nominations. Their prompt and favorable confirmation will enhance the board’s ability to meet its busy agenda and better serve the people of the U.S. Virgin Islands,” Mapp said.

Mapp appointed acting Public Works Commissioner designee Gustav James to serve on the WAPA board. Under V.I. law, six positions on the board are not government officials and are approved with the consent of the Legislature, and another three members are chosen by the governor from his cabinet.

Mapp said James "brings an expertise and willingness to serve on the WAPA board. This will only enhance the board’s ability to meet its goals and better serve the residents and businesses of the U. S. Virgin Islands.”

Mapp and Lt. Gov. Osbert Potter have worked together to identify these and more upcoming nominees to the territory’s boards and commissions, according to Government House.

The governor nominated former Sen. Usie Richards to serve on the Government Employee Retirement System Board.

He appointed acting Labor Commissioner Catherine Hendry, acting V.I. Lottery Director Juan Figueroa Sr., and Chief Economist Simon Jones-Hendrikson to serve on the Economic Development Authority Board of Directors.

During the most recent V.I. Public Finance Authority meeting, the PFA Board voted to appoint Johann (John) Clendenin, Gordon Ackley and Keith O’Neal, Jr., to serve on the V.I. Next Generation Network board of directors.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Keeping our community informed is our top priority.
If you have a news tip to share, please call or text us at 340-228-8784.

Support local + independent journalism in the U.S. Virgin Islands

Unlike many news organizations, we haven't put up a paywall – we want to keep our journalism as accessible as we can. Our independent journalism costs time, money and hard work to keep you informed, but we do it because we believe that it matters. We know that informed communities are empowered ones. If you appreciate our reporting and want to help make our future more secure, please consider donating.