Delta and Seaborne Airlines Codeshare Expands Customers’ Options to and from the U.S./ Caribbean

Seaborne AirlinesDelta Air Lines (NYSE: DAL) and Seaborne Airlines, an airline based out of San Juan, Puerto Rico, have announced a codeshare agreement that will provide customers from both airlines with increased travel options to and from the United States and the Caribbean. The agreement was filed for U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT) approval.
The agreement complements Delta’s service to the Caribbean, extending Delta flight numbers and fares to 10 Seaborne markets with up to 40 daily round-trip flights. The codeshare flights will connect to and from San Juan (SJU). Delta serves San Juan with four daily flights from Atlanta and five daily flights from New York-JFK during the peak season, with seasonal Detroit and Minneapolis-St. Paul to San Juan routes. With this agreement, customers flying to and from the Caribbean will be able to access Delta’s main hubs in the U.S., connecting to the rest of the world through its global network.
“The Delta-Seaborne partnership was launched in March 2014, but this codeshare agreement marks an important step forward in our relationship,” said Nicolas Ferri, Delta’s vice president for Latin America and the Caribbean. “This agreement enhances our service offerings to U.S customers traveling to the Caribbean, with unparalleled options for leisure destinations. We look forward to continuing to grow our partnership and providing our customers with even more connectivity in the future.”

"We truly see a new Puerto Rico emerging, and this type of deal is evidence of that. Different companies and investors are discovering the island as a business destination, and I am sure that the new air routes and enhanced air access will allow more of those possibilities,” said Alberto Bacó, secretary of the Department of Economic Development and Commerce for the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico.
There will be Delta-coded Seaborne Airlines–operated routes to five new destinations in the Caribbean:
Beef Island, British Virgin Islands (EIS)
Dominica (DOM)
Nevis, Saint Kitts and Nevis (NEV)
Anguilla (AXA)
La Romana, Dominican Republic (LRM)
In addition, Delta will offer enhanced coverage to five points it already served:
St. Kitts, Saint Kitts and Nevis (SKB)
Antigua, Antigua (ANU)
St. Croix, United States Virgin Islands (STX)
St. Maarten (SXM)
St. Thomas, United States Virgin Islands (STT)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Advertising (skip)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Support the VI Source

Unlike many news organizations, we haven't put up a paywall - we want to keep our journalism as open as we can. Our sites are more popular than ever, but advertising revenues are falling - so you can see why we could use your help. Our independent journalism costs time, money and hard work to keep you informed, but we do it because we believe that it matters. If everybody who appreciates our reporting efforts were to help fund it for as little as $1, our future would be much more secure. Thanks in advance for your support!