83.2 F
Cruz Bay
Saturday, May 18, 2024
HomeNewsLocal sportsAnnual Sun Stroke All V.I. Hoop Classic to Highlight Best H.S. Players

Annual Sun Stroke All V.I. Hoop Classic to Highlight Best H.S. Players

The 19th Annual Sun Stroke All V.I. Hoop Classic will be held on Saturday, April 15. There will be a Celebrity Basketball game beginning at 5 p.m. in the Ronald Charles Gym at St. Croix Central High School. There will be a Women’s High School All Star game at 6:30 p.m. and a Men’s High School All Star game beginning at 8 p.m.

The Celebrity Game will be highlighted by Brandon Royal of this year’s NBC “The Voice,” Paebak along with other Virgin Islands artists and media personalities.

The special guest of the evening will be the return of 2005 Pro Bowl selection and Crucian Hanik Milligan.

This tournament has been successfully used to showcase the best high school basketball players in the U.S. and British Virgin Islands since its inception. This year, Sun Stroke has solicited the services of Max Ivany of D1Nations from Arizona to provide professional evaluations of the players that could lead to scholarship opportunities.

In addition to Saturday night’s activities, there will be an Open Run at noon in the presence of Max Ivany for talented underclassmen who were not selected to the All Star game and players just out of high school. This emphasizes the purpose of the event, which is to give talented basketball players an opportunity for athletic scholarships.

The event is also fun; so in that vein, the Miami Heat mascot, Burnie, will perform, and there will be giveaways from the tournament’s primary sponsor: Tim Duncan of the San Antonio Spurs and Miami Heat.

This event has also highlighted the biggest names in V.I. music as well as the best basketball players in the territory. Two of the best young bands on St. Croix, Hypa Aktiv and In-Stylez, will work together to entertain the crowd in the post-game Jam Session that will end at midnight. The band that gets the crowd most involved will get a bonus. Admission for this event is $10. Everything is covered by the event organizers at no cost to the players and coaches.

The event is sponsored in part by Tim Duncan, Adidas, The Department of Education, Banco Popular, Bates Trucking, United Sporting Goods and Sun Stroke Promotions.

This year’s High School All Star selections include:

St. Croix Women’s Selections

Jendeyi Williams, St. Croix Central High

Rashanika Williams, St. Croix Central High

Jahnyra Donovan, St. Croix Central High

Ah’Zyah Lake, St. Croix Central High

Sydney Fleming, Good Hope Country Day

Parissa Terrell, St. Croix Educational Complex

Sedeja Fieulleteau, St. Croix Central High

Shanyce Horsford, Educational Complex

Breyanna Roberts, Educational Complex

Shania Barnes, Central High

Coached by: Head Coach Donald Bough, Central High

St. Thomas Women’s Selections

Jahnia Simmonds, Ivanna Eudora Kean High

Nailea Nicolas, Ivanna Eudora Kean High

Delma Baron, Ivanna Eudora Kean High

Shauliqua Fahie, Elmore Stoutt High (Tortola)

De’Jah Vigilant, Charlotte Amalie High

Tecoya Martin, Ivanna Eudora Kean High

Rhea Benjamin, Charlotte Amalie High

Taylor Robinson, Antilles School

Replaced by Da’Jah Vigilante, Charlotte Amalie High

Taria Southwell, Charlotte Amalie High

Laresha Martin, Eudora Kean

Coach Derek Heyliger, Eudora Kean

St. Croix Male Selections

Shakeem Alcindor, Educational Complex

Zion Jones, Central High

Kahdeem Horsford, Educational Complex

Ashoy Simmonds, Central High

Christian Rassmussen, Good Hope Country Day

Jakeem Auguste, Central High

Diante Brooks, Good Hope Country Day

Trejon Ali, Central High

James Richardson, Educational Complex

Darian Dowling, Home School

Replaced by Kimani McIntosh, Central High

Coach Earl Baker, Good Hope Country Day

St. Thomas Male Selections

Devon Freeman, Eudora Kean

Akil Greig, Eudora Kean

Dwayne Lynch, Charlotte Amalie

Emari Howe, Eudora Kean

Replaced by Terrell Lake, Charlotte Amalie

Cam Newton, Antilles School

Clail Dieudonne, Charlotte Amalie

Issa Tatem, Charlotte Amalie

Lestin Wiltshire, Elmore Stoutt

Ty Massaquoi, Gifft Hill

Joshua Farell, Antilles School


Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Keeping our community informed is our top priority.
If you have a news tip to share, please call or text us at 340-228-8784.

Support local + independent journalism in the U.S. Virgin Islands

Unlike many news organizations, we haven't put up a paywall – we want to keep our journalism as accessible as we can. Our independent journalism costs time, money and hard work to keep you informed, but we do it because we believe that it matters. We know that informed communities are empowered ones. If you appreciate our reporting and want to help make our future more secure, please consider donating.