77.8 F
Cruz Bay
Tuesday, July 5, 2022


The Senate on Thursday confirmed the nominations of nine of Gov. Charles W. Turnbull's Cabinet appointees.
In a regular legislative session, senators unanimously confirmed the following nominations:
— Harold Thompson Jr., Public Works commissioner.
— Bernice Turnbull, Finance commissioner.
— Sedonie Halbert, Human Services commissioner.
— Marc Biggs, commissioner of Property and Procurement.
— Karen Andrews, chief negotiator, Office of Collective Bargaining.
— Franz Christian, Police commissioner.
Also confirmed on a 14-1 vote, with Sen. Adelbert M. "Bert" Bryan delivering the dissenting vote in each case, were:
— Ira Mills, director of Management and Budget.
— Claudette Farrington, director of the Bureau of Internal Revenue.
— Andrew Rutnik, commissioner of Licensing and Consumer Affairs.
The nomination of Clement "Cain" Magras as Tourism commissioner was rejected. (See related story, Senate Rejects Magras, 8-7, for details).
Also ratified in the session was a contract for the waiver of marine fees and forbearance of fees in lieu of taxes between the V.I. government and the Port Authority. Senators also approved two rezoning bills.
All 15 senators attended Thursday's session.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Keeping our community informed is our top priority.
If you have a news tip to share, please call or text us at 340-228-8784.

Support local + independent journalism in the U.S. Virgin Islands

Unlike many news organizations, we haven't put up a paywall – we want to keep our journalism as accessible as we can. Our independent journalism costs time, money and hard work to keep you informed, but we do it because we believe that it matters. We know that informed communities are empowered ones. If you appreciate our reporting and want to help make our future more secure, please consider donating.




Comments Box SVG iconsUsed for the like, share, comment, and reaction icons
Load more