79.6 F
Cruz Bay
Monday, November 28, 2022
HomeNewsArchivesLOTS ON TAP FOR 'LABOR AWARENESS MONTH'

LOTS ON TAP FOR 'LABOR AWARENESS MONTH'

Sept. 7, 2002 – In observance of September as Labor Awareness Month, the Labor Department has organized activities throughout the month to "pay tribute to the hard-working men and women of this territory who have contributed to the social, economic and cultural development of the Virgin Islands."
The public is invited to join in the events.
Two St. Croix activities began the series — worship at St. Peter's Episcopal Church on Sunday, Sept. 1, and Karaoke Night at the 2+2 Nite Club Friday, Sept. 6. Here's the remainder of the schedule:
St. Thomas
Sunday, Sept. 8 — worship at Calvary Baptist Church, 11 a.m.
Wednesday, Sept. 11 — Customer Appreciation Day.
Wednesday, Sept. 18 — Customer Appreciation Day.
Wednesday, Sept. 25 — Customer Appreciation Day.
Saturday, Sept. 28 — Open house, Labor Department offices, and health screening, 10 a.m.-5 p.m.
Monday, Sept. 29 — Labor Department employees' beach party, Sapphire Beach.
St. Croix
Sunday, Sept. 8 — Labor Department employees' beach party, Cramer's Park, 11 a.m. until.
Thursday, Sept. 19 — Town meeting, Midland Bar and Restaurant, 6 p.m. THIS HAS BEEN POSTPONED IN OBSERVANCE OF PASSING OF FORMER GOV. FARRELLY.
Saturday, Sept. 21 — Open house, Labor Department offices, 10 a.m.-2 p.m.
Tuesday, Sept. 24 — Industrial Park tour, 10 a.m.-2 p.m.
Wednesday, Sept. 25 — Bowling Night, Tropical Ten Pin, 7:30-10 p.m.
Friday, Sept. 27 — Walkathon, beginning at 6:30 p.m.
Saturday, Sept. 28 — Cake sale, Sunny Isle Shopping Center, 10 a.m.-2 p.m.
For additional information, call the Labor Department at 776-3700, ext. 2111 on St. Thomas or at 773-1994, ext. 230 on St. Croix.

Publisher's note : Like the St. Croix Source now? Find out how you can love us twice as much — and show your support for the islands' free and independent news voice … click here.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Keeping our community informed is our top priority.
If you have a news tip to share, please call or text us at 340-228-8784.




Support local + independent journalism in the U.S. Virgin Islands

Unlike many news organizations, we haven't put up a paywall – we want to keep our journalism as accessible as we can. Our independent journalism costs time, money and hard work to keep you informed, but we do it because we believe that it matters. We know that informed communities are empowered ones. If you appreciate our reporting and want to help make our future more secure, please consider donating.