81.4 F
Cruz Bay
Thursday, December 7, 2023
HomeNewsArchivesVirgin Islands Cycling Federation Race Results

Virgin Islands Cycling Federation Race Results

Jan. 31, 2006 – Jamie Keys battled the largest field in the history of Virgin Islands cycling, as well as winds more appropriate to the America's Cup, to win the first individual time trial of the 2006 season. His time of 34:09 was over a minute ahead of Endurance Sports teammate, Nate Faulkenberry, who was coming off a win in the Rock City Triathlon and who has also exhibited outstanding early season fitness. John Harper of Cruzan Sprockets was a surprise podium finisher, capturing third place.
The expert category also had a dominating performance, with newcomer Robert Bumann slaying the field with a staggering 5.5-minute win. Glen Massiah of STX 340 was second with teammate Jose Diaz capturing third.
The Sport category included 17 racers, with Joseph Thomas of Endurance Sports taking home the honors. STX 340 riders Dale Scope and Hanif Lafond captured the remaining podium slots.
The race featured 43 athletes, starting at one-minute intervals, which led to the unusual situation of having the beginning athletes finish before the late starters had even commenced. Four teams were well represented, and the race is the first in the season long points battle. The top three finishers in each category are awarded points, and after one race the tallies are Endurance Sports 18, STX 340 8 and Cruzan Sprockets 1.
The next race is a road race that starts at the old South Shore Café on Sunday, Feb. 5, at 7 a.m.
For more information, please go to www.vicf.org.
Clear skies, very windy East End Time Trial Jan. 29, 2006
(13 miles)
1. Jamie Keys 34.09 Endurance Elite 5
2. Nathaniel Faulkenberry 35.17 Endurance Elite 3
3. John Harper 36.02 Sprockets Elite 1
4. Robert Bumann 36.08 Endurance Expert 5
5. Gabe Webber 36.12 Sprockets Elite
6. Juancito Gario 37.11 STX340 Elite
7. Alex Betancourt 38.19 STX340 Elite
8. Wayne Patrick 38.47 Endurance Elite
9. Tom Guthrie 39.13 Sprockets Elite
10. Sue Brown 39.53 Sprockets Elite
11. Danney Fontenelle 40.01 STX340 Elite
12. Cumba Greaux 40.04 STX340 Elite
13. Glenn Massiah 41.43 STX340 Expert 3
14. Jason Snow 41.49 Sport
15. Joseph Thomas 41.54 Endurance Sport 5
16. Dale Scope 42.13 STX340 Sport 3
17. José Díaz 42.19 STX340 Expert 1
18. Bob Halk 42.42 Expert
19. Chris Dorsey* 42.45 Sprockets Expert
20. Scott Fricks 43.03 Endurance Expert
21. Dick Isherwood* 43.10 Sport
22. Hanif Lafond 43.15 STX340 Sport 1
23. José Prado 43.26 Expert
24. Nelson Rojas 44.05 VITek* Sport
25. Paul Trivino 44.09 Twin City Sport
26. Roger Hatfield* 44.18 Expert
27. Todd Harris 44.38 Sprockets Expert
28. Miguel Cruz 45.04 Twin City Sport
29. Tim Norman 45.06 Sport
30. Billy Lucas 45.25 Expert
31. Chuck Hamel 45.45 Expert
32. Victor Cruz* 45.50 VITek* Sport
33. Mathias Sampson 46.03 Sport
34. James Meyers 46.52 VITek* Sport
35. Angel Arias 47.56 Sport
36. Brian O'Reilly 48.37 VITek* Sport
37. David Fleming 48.38 Sport
38. Mervin Mills 48.53 Sport
39. Ferdi Abraham 49.38 Endurance Sport
40. Marius Louis 50.02 Sport
41. Will Franks* 52.10 Sport
42. Paul Gillette* 53.17 Sport
43. Andre Galiber 59.30 Endurance Sport
Team Total
* = 50+ years Endurance – 18pts
STX340 – 8pts
Sprockets – 1pt

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Keeping our community informed is our top priority.
If you have a news tip to share, please call or text us at 340-228-8784.

Support local + independent journalism in the U.S. Virgin Islands

Unlike many news organizations, we haven't put up a paywall – we want to keep our journalism as accessible as we can. Our independent journalism costs time, money and hard work to keep you informed, but we do it because we believe that it matters. We know that informed communities are empowered ones. If you appreciate our reporting and want to help make our future more secure, please consider donating.