80.8 F
Cruz Bay
Friday, June 2, 2023
HomeNewsArchivesChamber of Commerce Names Honorees for Annual Banquet

Chamber of Commerce Names Honorees for Annual Banquet

May 10, 2008 — Panama hats, Guayabera shirts and a mojito or two will bring the flavor of another, rather larger Caribbean island to the St. Thomas-St. John Chamber of Commerce 2008 Annual Awards Banquet on May 31 at the St. Peter Greathouse.
Chamber President Joe Aubain this week announced this year's honorees for several awards including the Wilbur "Bill" LaMotta Community Service Award, the Student Achievement Award and the Award for Design Excellence.
The LaMotta Award was established in 1983 to recognize the outstanding contributions of public and private citizens. The award is given to people who exhibit LaMotta's dedication, sincerity, forthrightness and ethics in the practice of their businesses or professions. Prior to his death in 1980, LaMotta, a civic leader and renowned Caribbean composer and musician , was president of the chamber.
This year's recipient for the LaMotta Community Service Award from the private sector are Cassan Pancham, FirstBank Eastern Caribbean Region executive vice president; and Stanley Selengut, Maho Bay Camps, Inc. president.
The public sector recipient is John Jowers, former executive director of the Virgin Islands Council on the Arts.
In 1999, the chamber's board decided to recognize an individual involved in the leadership of a non-profit or charitable organization. Dee Baecher-Brown, Community Foundation of the Virgin Islands president, is this year’s honoree.
The Award for Design Excellence was established in 1999 to recognize an individual or corporation's capital investment in the territory which demonstrates outstanding achievement in quality design, improvement to the environment, commitment to the community and economic growth.
This year's recipients are Richard H. Driehaus and the V.I. Government for the renovations to the Franklin D. Roosevelt V.I. Veterans Memorial Park.
The Student Achievement Award was established in 1992 to honor students who have made their school a better place through student government, extra curricular activities and academic excellence. This year's recipient is Ludence A. Romney Jr., a Charlotte Amalie High School junior who is the Future Business Leaders of America V.I. State Membership vice president.
Chamber President Joe Aubain said Saturday that the "Havana Nights" theme seemed a natural. "Each year we try to create a theme to work our decorations around," Aubain said. "And right about that time, Fidel Castro stepped down."
The celebration will begin at 6:30 p.m. with a champagne toast and cocktail reception. Dinner will follow. Tickets are $125 per person and include an open bar and free shuttle service from the Joseph Sibilly Elementary School parking lot. Call the Chamber at 776-0100.

Back Talk

Share your reaction to this news with other Source readers. Please include headline, your name and city and state/country or island where you reside.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Keeping our community informed is our top priority.
If you have a news tip to share, please call or text us at 340-228-8784.

Support local + independent journalism in the U.S. Virgin Islands

Unlike many news organizations, we haven't put up a paywall – we want to keep our journalism as accessible as we can. Our independent journalism costs time, money and hard work to keep you informed, but we do it because we believe that it matters. We know that informed communities are empowered ones. If you appreciate our reporting and want to help make our future more secure, please consider donating.