79.6 F
Cruz Bay
Sunday, July 3, 2022
HomeNewsElections 20222022 Primary and General Election Calendar

2022 Primary and General Election Calendar

Election 2022 (Shutterstock image)
(Shutterstock image)

Following is the calendar of significant dates for the 2022 Primary and General elections, compiled by the Elections System of the V.I. For more information, visit their website and Facebook page.

The Elections System offices are located on St. Croix in Unit 26 of the first floor of the Sunny Isle Shopping Center; on St. Thomas at 9200 Lockhart Gardens (upstairs from Banco Popular); and on St. John at the Market Place, Suite II. On St. Croix call 340-773-1021; on St. Thomas call 340-774-3107; and on St. John call 340-776-6535.

Tuesday, May 10: FIRST DAY on which NOMINATION PETITIONS/PAPERS may be filed

Tuesday, May 17: LAST DAY on which NOMINATION PETITIONS/PAPERS may be filed (by 5 p.m.)

Advertising (skip)
Advertising (skip)

Sunday, May 22: DEADLINE for WITHDRAWAL of nominated candidates

Sunday, May 22: DEADLINE for candidates for the same office with similar last surnames to request in writing that the occupation or residence be printed opposite his/her name on the ballot.

Friday, May 27: DEADLINE for filing substitute nomination certificates and papers, by noon.

Tuesday, May 31: CASTING OF LOTS for position of names upon the official primary ballot at noon (virtual) or 5:30 p.m. (in person).

Tuesday, June 7: FIRST DAY for receipt by the Supervisor of Elections of applications for ABSENTEE BALLOTS FOR THE PRIMARY ELECTION.

Tuesday, June 7: DEADLINE for receipt in WRITING by the Supervisor of Elections of their shortened form on which candidates whose name contains more than 22 letters should be listed in the ballot.

Tuesday, June 14: CERTIFICATION of NOMINEES by the Supervisor of Elections

Tuesday, June 21: All Federal ballots to be mailed out to military and overseas personnel. Deadline for mailout ballots request.

Thursday, June 30: Campaign Disclosure Report due

Tuesday, July 5: DEADLINE for political parties to submit to the Supervisor of Elections a party emblem to be entered on the format of the ballot as it shall appear on the electronic voting machine.

Wednesday, July 6: FIRST DAY for EXAMINATION of VOTING MACHINES and instructions in use of electronic voting machines.

Wednesday, July 6: LAST DAY to investigate all questions relating to registration of electors.

Wednesday, July 6: LAST DAY for CHANGES OF ENROLLMENT of political parties and CANCELLATION OF PARTY ENROLLMENT.

Wednesday, July 6: DEADLINE for receipt of REMOVAL NOTICES and TRANSFER OF REGISTRATION.

Tuesday, July 7: Last day for Primary Election registration

Wednesday, July 13: Testing of electronic voting machines and tabulating equipment for the EARLY VOTING PERIOD. Certification by board. Open to general public and media

Saturday, July 16: NOTICE of PRIMARY ELECTION

Sunday, July 17: DEADLINE for qualified electors to petition the Boards of Elections to cancel the registration of any registered elector for cause shown.

Sunday, July 17: DEADLINE for persons whose application to be registered has been denied to petition the Board of Elections for review of the matter.

Monday, July 18: FIRST DAY OF EARLY VOTING

Tuesday, July 19: LAST DAY for receipt by the Supervisor of Elections of applications for mail out ABSENTEE BALLOTS FOR THE PRIMARY ELECTION.

Wednesday, July 27: DEADLINE for APPEALS to the DISTRICT COURT by persons whose claim for registration were denied or whose previous registration was cancelled and who has exhausted all administrative remedies.

Friday, July 29: LAST DAY for EXAMINATION of VOTING MACHINES and instruction in use of electronic voting machines.

Monday, Aug. 1: Testing of electronic voting machines and tabulating equipment, certification by Boards for the Primary Elections. Open to the general public and media.

Monday, Aug. 1: LAST DAY OF EARLY VOTING

(Shutterstock image)
(Shutterstock image)

Saturday, Aug. 6: PRIMARY ELECTION DAY   

Thursday, Aug. 11: REGISTRARS in the Elections System of the Virgin Islands COMMENCE REGISTRATION.

Thursday, Aug. 11: Last day to investigate all questions relating to registration of electors.

Friday, Aug. 26: In case of a tie vote at the primary election, the candidate receiving the tie vote shall cast lots before the Supervisor of Elections at noon.

Monday, Aug. 29: General Election Casting of Lots for position of names upon the official election ballot at noon (virtual) or 5:30 p.m. (in person)

Tuesday, Sept. 6: FIRST DAY for receipt by the Supervisor of Elections of applications for ABSENTEE BALLOTS FOR THE GENERAL ELECTION.

Friday, Sept. 16: All federal ballots to be mailed out to military and overseas personnel. Deadline for mailout ballots request.

Sunday, Oct. 2: FIRST DAY for EXAMINATION of VOTING MACHINES and instructions in use of electronic voting machines.

Sunday, Oct. 2: LAST DAY to investigate all questions relating to registration of electors.

Sunday, Oct. 2: DEADLINE for receipt of REMOVAL NOTICES and TRANSFER of REGISTRATION.

Sunday, Oct. 2: LAST DAY for CHANGE OF ENROLLMENT of political party and CANCELLATION OF PARTY ENROLLMENT.

Thursday, Oct. 6: Testing of electronic voting machines and tabulating equipment for the EARLY VOTING PERIOD. Certification by board. Open to the general public and the media.

Sunday, Oct. 9: LAST DAY for General Election REGISTRATION

Monday, Oct. 10: FIRST DAY OF EARLY VOTING

Tuesday, Oct. 11: OFFICIAL PUBLIC NOTICE of GENERAL ELECTION due

Tuesday, Oct. 11: DEADLINE for receipt by the Supervisor of Elections of applications for mail out ABSENTEE BALLOTS for the GENERAL ELECTION.

Wednesday, Oct. 12: DEADLINE for persons whose application to be registered has been denied to petition the Board of Elections for review of the matter.

Wednesday, Oct. 12: APPOINTMENT of ELECTION OFFICERS.

Wednesday, Oct. 12: DEADLINE for qualified electors to petition the Boards of Elections to cancel the registration of any registered elector for cause shown.

Saturday, Oct. 22: LAST DAY for EXAMINATION of VOTING MACHINES and instruction in use of electronic voting machines.

Thursday, Oct. 27: DEADLINE for APPEALS to the DISTRICT COURT by persons whose claim for registration were denied or whose previous registration was cancelled and who have exhausted all administrative remedies.

Monday, Oct. 31: LAST DAY OF EARLY VOTING

Wednesday, Nov. 2: Testing of electronic voting machines and tabulating equipment, Certification by Board. Open to the general public and the media.

(Shutterstock image)
(Shutterstock image)

Tuesday, Nov. 8: GENERAL ELECTION DAY

Wednesday, Nov. 9: FIRST DAY for receipt by the Supervisor of Elections of applications for ABSENTEE BALLOTS FOR THE RUN-OFF ELECTION

Saturday, Nov. 19: FIRST DAY OF EARLY VOTING

Sunday, Nov. 20: LAST DAY OF EARLY VOTING

Tuesday, Nov. 22: DEADLINE for receipt by the Supervisor of Elections of applications for ABSENTEE BALLOTS for the RUN-OFF ELECTION.

Tuesday, Nov. 22: RUN-OFF ELECTION DAY

Sunday, Nov. 27: REGISTRARS in the Elections System of the Virgin Islands COMMENCE REGISTRATION.

Friday, Dec. 30: Campaign Disclosure Report Due

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Keeping our community informed is our top priority.
If you have a news tip to share, please call or text us at 340-228-8784.




Support local + independent journalism in the U.S. Virgin Islands

Unlike many news organizations, we haven't put up a paywall – we want to keep our journalism as accessible as we can. Our independent journalism costs time, money and hard work to keep you informed, but we do it because we believe that it matters. We know that informed communities are empowered ones. If you appreciate our reporting and want to help make our future more secure, please consider donating.



STAY CONNECTED

20,771FansLike
4,757FollowersFollow

FROM FACEBOOK

Comments Box SVG iconsUsed for the like, share, comment, and reaction icons
Load more